Max Rubner Center for Cardiovascular Metabolic Renal Research 

Meta menu:

From here, you can access the Emergencies page, Contact Us page, Accessibility Settings, Language Selection, and Search page.

Open Menu

Max Rubner Center (MRC) for Cardiovascular-Metabolic-Renal Research in Berlin - Cooperative Cardiovascular, Metabolic and Renal Research for Innovative Therapies

The Max Rubner Center (MRC) for Cardiovascular-Metabolic-Renal Research is an institution of the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin specialized in cardiovascular, metabolic and renal research and is located at the Campus Charité Mitte. It was founded as an experimental research center of the Charité. Three cardiology clinics, the Clinic for Nephrology, the Clinic for Endocrinology, the Institute of Experimental Endocrinology, the Institute of Laboratory Medicine, the Institute of Vegetative Physiology and the Institute of Pharmacology work together here on an interdisciplinary basis.

With the center, the faculty promotes cardiovascular, metabolic and renal research at the Charité. It creates excellent conditions for cooperative research in the fields of heart failure and myocardial hypertrophy, myocardial vascular disorders, acute/ chronic kidney disease, diabetes mellitus and obesity. Other research activities focus on mechanisms of aging in metabolic and cardiovascular diseases, as well as molecular pharmacology and renal physiology. The MRC combines cardiology, nephrology, endocrinology, physiology and pharmacology. Scientists in 13 research groups are investigating the causes of particularly frequent cardiovascular, metabolic and renal diseases. At the same time, they are developing innovative therapies.

An animal husbandry area is also embedded, which is supported by the Research Facilities for Experimental Medicine (FEM) with regard to experimental animal breeding and husbandry. The animal husbandry area is equipped with several units for metabolic, cardiovascular and renal phenotyping of small animals. Among others, scientists have access to a small animal echocardiography unit, metabolic cages and implantable telemetry transponders for their research.

The MRC works closely with the German Center for Cardiovascular Research (DZHK). Membership in the DZHK also confirms the high quality of cardiovascular research: In the DZHK, the German Federal Ministry of Education and Science funds 28 institutions at 7 locations in Germany, which were selected in a competitive process. In the DZHK, patient-oriented interdisciplinary research is conducted in networks of leading scientists.

The MRC is home to groups from three collaborative research centers funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG): CRC1365 - Nephroprotekion, CRC1470 - Heart Failure with Preserved Ejection Fraction (HFpEF) and CRC/ TR296 Local Control of Thyroid Hormone Action.

Max Rubner Center for Cardiovascular Metabolic Renal Research 

Metanavigation:

Hier finden Sie den Zugang zur Notfallseite, Kontaktinformationen, Barrierefreiheits-Einstellungen, die Sprachwahl und die Suchfunktion.

Navigation öffnen

Max Rubner Center (MRC) für kardiovaskuläre-metabolische-renale Forschung in Berlin – kooperative Herz-Kreislauf-, Stoffwechsel und Nierenforschung für innovative Therapien

Das Max Rubner Center (MRC) für kardiovaskuläre-metabolische-renale Forschung ist eine auf Herz-Kreislauf-, Stoffwechsel und Nierenforschung spezialisierte Einrichtung der Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und befindet sich am Campus Charité Mitte. Es wurde als experimentelles Forschungszentrum der Charité gegründet. Drei kardiologische Kliniken, die Klinik für Nephrologie, die Klinik für Endokrinologie, das Institut für Experimentelle Endokrinologie, das Institut für Labormedizin, das Institut für Vegetative Physiologie und das Institut für Pharmakologie arbeiten hier interdisziplinär zusammen.

Mit dem Zentrum fördert die Fakultät die kardiovaskuläre, metabolische und renale Forschung an der Charité. Es schafft exzellente Voraussetzungen für kooperative Forschung auf den Gebieten Herzinsuffizienz und Myokardhypertrophie, myokardialer vaskulärer Störungen, chronische Niereninsuffizienz, Diabetes mellitus und Adipositas. Weitere Forschungsaktivitäten gelten den Mechanismen des Alterns bei metabolischen und kardiovaskulären Erkrankungen sowie der molekularen Pharmakologie und Nierenphysiologie. Im MRC verbinden sich Kardiologie, Nephrologie, Endokrinologie, Physiologie und Pharmakologie. Wissenschaftler*innen in 13 Arbeitsgruppen forschen an den Ursachen besonders häufiger Herz- und Kreislauf-, Stoffwechsel und Nierenerkrankungen. Gleichzeitig entwickeln sie innovative Therapiemöglichkeiten.

Eingebettet ist auch ein Tierhaltungsbereich, der von den Forschungseinrichtungen für experimentelle Medizin (FEM) bezüglich Versuchstierzucht und -haltung unterstützt wird. Die Tierhaltung ist ausgestattet mit mehreren Einheiten zur metabolischen, kardiovaskulären und renalen Phänotypisierung von Kleintieren. Unter anderem stehen Wissenschaftler*innen ein Kleintierechokardiografiegerät, metabolische Käfige und implantierbare Telemetrietransponder für ihre Forschung zur Verfügung.

Das MRC arbeitet eng mit dem Deutschen Zentrum für Herz-Kreislauf-Forschung (DZHK) zusammen. Durch die Mitgliedschaft im DZHK wird auch die hohe Qualität der kardiovaskulären Forschung bestätigt: Im DZHK fördert das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Wissenschaft 28 Institutionen an 7 Standorten in Deutschland, die in einem kompetitiven Verfahren ausgewählt wurden. Im DZHK wird patientenorientierte interdisziplinäre Forschung in Netzwerken führender Wissenschaftler durchgeführt.

Im MRC sind Gruppen aus drei DFG finanzierten Sonderforschungsbereichen beheimatet: SFB 1365 - Nephroprotektion, SFB1470 - Herzinsuffizienz mit erhaltener Ejektionsfraktion (HFpEF) und SFB/ TR296 Local Control of Thyroid Hormone Action.